Beats and Skies

A love letter to Preconstructed Magic

Two decks made from two copies of the two deck LoTR starter kit.

Instead of focusing on improving old precons that I used to play when I was younger than my son is now… maybe it could be more useful to take a look at something people can get their hands on? I’ve done posts already on modifying each of the Tales starter decks with a focus on flavour, and am starting to cover some custom decks trying to capture a similar “precon-y” vibe. But I’ve not done the double thing with these. Until now!

So my thoughts with making Gondor stronger and more focused is to play into the token generation and “go wide” which is encouraged by Aragon and Arwen, Wed. Not that there’s any creature token producers in the deck other than Protector of Gondor – which naturally we’ll have the full four of – so it’s more playing out creatures the old fashioned way. Gandalf, White Rider and Landroval are a lot better with a certain number of creatures out, too.

On the other side of the coin this means that Bilbo’s Ring is a notable cut: the “attacks alone” aspect is a bit counter to what you’re wanting to do with the deck. Consequently equipment such as Dunedain Blade and Frodo himself aren’t as useful, either. Though Frodo having a relevant creature type and damage prevention ability does make him worth still being a one-of. Galadrim Bow is a good trick, too, with continued utility in follow turns. I do like a good untap surprise blocker effect!

But it’s probably maximising the food production/use which is the main consideration. Rosie is the lynchpin which rewards you with +1/+1 counters when you make food (or soldiers!). Merry and Pippin are great too, so all 3 cards you want both copies available even though they are legendary. Watchdogs and Farmer then take advantage of the food once you have it.

The rest of the deck is some removal and a few more creatures to get the curve where I was wanting it. The final list I have got, in text form:

2 Aragorn and Arwen, Wed
4 Banishing Light
2 East-Mark Cavalier
2 Eastfarthing Farmer
8 Forest
1 Frodo, Determined Hero
2 Galadhrim Bow
2 Galadriel, Gift-Giver
2 Gandalf, White Rider
4 Graypelt Refuge
1 Landroval, Horizon Witness
2 Meriadoc Brandybuck
4 Mushroom Watchdogs
2 Peregrin Took
12 Plains
4 Protector of Gondor
2 Rosie Cotton of South Lane
2 Stew the Coneys
2 You Cannot Pass!

Well, almost. I’m not sure if Galadriel, Gift-Giver is doing enough to make it worth the risk of drawing two of them. Maybe add in a Generous Ent for one of them. If I was building this deck myself I might tweak it a little bit still, especially after playing games against the tweaked Mordor deck so I could have them be pretty balanced still.

And using that as my segue:

So same deal here. Two copies of the same deck, condensed into one new deck which hopefully will strengthen themes and strategy, removing the cards which don’t really further that.

The main thing wanted to do here was to cut the top end and make the deck a lot faster. Doubled up on some of the legends which I felt were more crucial: Mauhur and Sauron obviously as examples. Sauron is really the only curve topper you need, though one Witch-king and a pair of Oliphaunt are there too. I do like the landcyclers, and being able to give your Army (which is no doubt a good size) trample is definitely helpful.

Really, that’s essentially all there was to doing this one. Self explanatory enough I’d hope?

4 Dunland Crebain
4 Easterling Vanguard
3 Feed the Swarm
1 Fires of Mount Doom
4 Foray of Orcs
2 Goblin Fireleaper
1 Gothmog, Morgul Lieutenant
2 Grishnákh, Brash Instigator
2 Mauhúr, Uruk-hai Captain
3 Mordor Trebuchet
11 Mountain
2 Nasty End
2 Oliphaunt
2 Sauron, the Lidless Eye
13 Swamp
1 The Balrog, Flame of Udûn
2 Uglúk of the White Hand
1 Witch-king, Bringer of Ruin

And that’s basically me for today, I think. I’m still playing around with custom “starter kit” decks from the set so next Tales related thing will pick back there. Maybe even with the Junk (that’s “Abzan” in old money) Cirith Ungol deck I’ve been playing around with.

Published by

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started